related (or unrelated) stories

Crochet Journal

A person involved in any craft probably perennially has a huge numbers WIPs (Work In Progress) and WIMs (Work in Mind). I very easily change my mind and wish to start a lot of projects at the same time. When I go to the store to buy materials with some project in minds, I end up buying materials for a completely different project altogether. More often than not, I have already decided what I am going to do next before the completion of my current project. To keep myself even close to being organized, I jot down my ideas in a crochet journal. This also helps me in having an idea about the yarn/thread that I have remaining. I started this crochet journal long before I knew the existence of Ravelry, which is so much better for looking for new patterns and interacting with people and their ideas. In any case, I still maintain my own crochet journal so I know all the details about the project.

My journal essentially a folder to contain all the crochet related patterns and other details. I would print out copies of patterns I found on the internet and crochet books and attach them to the crochet journal. This allows me to go back to that particular pattern even if the completed product has already been gifted to somebody else.

Crochet Catalogue
This pretty much includes all the information you need regarding the project!

Following are the details that must be included in the crochet journal:

  1. Project Name: It allows you to identify with the piece of art. And its kinda fun to come up with new interesting names.
  2. Yarn details: It is essential to know the yarn/thread details (yardage, number of skeins used, color) so if you need to replicate it you know where to get it from and how much you paid for it. It is also nice to know how much you are spending on each piece that you create. In case you are planning to sell it, you can keep track of your expenditure.
  3. Gauge, Hook size and Dimensions: Depending on the thread size the dimensions of the finished product may vary. Another thing that affects the dimensions is the hook size. Choose a hook size that goes with the dimensions of the gauge of the given pattern. A gauge is just a small crocheted piece made with materials you plan to use on the actual piece.
  4. Start Date and Finish Date: I like to note down the start and end date. This tells me how much time I need to finish one project. Being a graduate student doesn’t allow me to crochet all the time so I spend about an hour each day on crocheting. Usually I start one project and complete it before starting the next one. The next one is already planned and all set to start. I hardly spend any time in between projects. One project (depending on its complexity and size) takes me about a month to finish.
  5. Taking care: Threads used in different projects may vary and need to be taken care of differently. I save the cover wrapper of the thread/yarn that I use for a particular project and note down the washing instructions. This helps me to inform the person I am gifting it to about its handling details.
  6. Modifications and Lessons: I am a new crocheter and with every project I try to learn something new and include my ideas (minute changes, experiment with colors, shapes and stitches). In this section, I note down the changes that I made to the project and what was the new thing that I learnt from this project. For example, I read in some crochet tips that it is easier to use the inner end of the skein of the yarn. When I tried it for my last project it was sooooo much more easier. Usually they also have location of the end of the yarn printed on its cover (if only I had noticed it earlier. Better late than never.)

Here is a picture of what my completed Crochet Journal for my previous project looks like (The idea of the crochet journal came from a blog KathrynIvy.com, where you can find downloadable documents). Now, I just fill in the spaces and include a picture and I am all set for the next project.

Completed crochet document
Now I am good to go for my next venture

Along with the above details about the project I also include separate sections for new patterns that I design. Such as new filet crochet graphs and other free patterns or something I found that might interest me at a later time. A crochet journal can be personalized. One can use little motifs, print good thoughts, and various kinds of paper. Just like a scrapbook, except make it into a crochet journal.

Let me know if you maintain a crochet journal, and/or how you organize you crochet ideas. You can also leave a comment if you are interested in downloading journal document and I can email it to you. Thank you for stopping by.

Update! – here is the pdf version of the crochet journal template!!

Click here for the pdf of the journal template!
Click here for the pdf of the journal template!

 

12 thoughts on “Crochet Journal”

  1. This is a great idea! I use Ravelry to store records of my completed projects but I do love having back up paper resources as I find them much easier to browse through! I can’t wait to start my journal using this template! Luckily I have only done a few projects so far so it won’t take me long to put my journal together!

    1. Hey Hannah,
      I think so too.. I love to use ravelry and it is a nice place to find nice patterns and connect with other people with similar interests. But I find keeping a crochet journal, more personalized and interesting. I am very glad you liked it. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

