Crocheted items

Queen of Hearts

Alright, back to the crocheting world!!

The next venture in crochet was a big blanket for my dearest friend. I came across this blanket pattern on a blog and it is a free pattern available online here. One search on Ravelry showed the various ways in which this pattern can be modified. Many people had put up beautiful color combinations of the blanket. Some had even modified this pattern into a beautiful string bag.

I wanted to modify this pattern into a nice pink fluffy blanket. I chose two shades of pink, a lighter soft pink yarn and a slightly darker pink. For every two rows of the lighter shade, I included one row of the darker shade. The good thing about this pattern is that you can play around with colors. The original pattern uses rainbow colors. But you can essentially modify it to suit your color combinations. This afghan is so cozy for a weekend morning with a nice cup of coffee and Nora Roberts book to read. (thats right. I am a huge Nora Roberts fan! love her books)

Completed Hearts Blanket

Materials:

Caron simply soft – Soft pink (two and half 6 oz. skeins)

Victorian Rose (one 6 oz. skein)

White (four 6 oz. skeins)

US size G (4.25 mm) crochet hook

Finished Dimensions: 46 X 52 in.

Modifications to the pattern: I did not add fringes to this pattern. For edging, I crocheted one row of granny stitch, one row of dc followed by single crochet rows of all three colors (soft pink, white and dark pink).

Edging details
Crochet journal update
Instagram picture of the hearts blanket!

Now that I have a blue blanket and a pink blanket, I want to try out some new colors for my next Afghan project. For this I really need your help. This blanket is fall-inspired and I wanted to choose color tones like yellows, oranges, reds and browns. Should I use many different colored yarns or just a couple different ones (light and darker shades)? What do you think?

I greatly appreciate your color suggestions and inputs. Thank you so much for stopping by and hope you have a great weekend!

13 thoughts on “Queen of Hearts”

  1. Gorgeous! I love this blanket, and I love the book too. I can actually picture myself curled up reading under this! Awesome job. As to your fall color problem I don’t know that I have any great insights to share. I like the idea of the many color tones blended together as to me it sounds a bit more vibrant vs just a couple of different shades. Just my opinion though because a contrast of a light and dark shade of the same color could “pop” too. I should be honest, I suck at the picking of colors. When I quilt, the hardes part for me is picking fabric. And quite often the finished project never quite looks like what I envisioned (though most of the time it is better than I imagined)! Please show of the final result, I can’t wait to see it! P.S I love the crochet journal too. Awesome idea!

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words!!
      I am getting so confused to decide on the right colors for the next one. But it is still going to take a while as I have just ordered the yarn. Hopefully it’ll turn out okay! I am so glad you liked the Journal. Thanks once again!

  2. This is so beautiful! I want to make one now! Can I ask where you got the crochet journal template? Goodness knows I could use something like that, I have so many projects going all the time that I often forget which hook I was using to make what. 😄

  3. I already left a message raving about your journal idea on an earlier post that was flagged up in the follow email, but I just wanted to follow up my like by saying how much I love this blanket. I originally stumbled across it and thought it might be a good idea for a baby blanket to gift to a friend. Although it’s so lovely as a pattern, I reckon I’d want to keep it for myself 😉 I want to be able to crochet so neatly – I’ve been mainly knitting recently and last time I picked up a hook I realised I have a lot of practice to do!

  4. a great job and the final result is so awesome . I can visualize the glow in bunny’s face as she rolls up in the blanket, Waiting to see the next one. all the best

Leave a Reply

