Crocheted items, Knitting projects

Fresh Blue Cable Blanket

This is my next venture in knitting. I love the contrasting colors. The blue is just so pretty.

My friend has generously donated her earring as a stitch marker! :)
My friend has generously donated her earring as a stitch marker! 🙂

The pattern is really simple and easy to follow. I was scared to start a cable blanket but a couple youtube videos later I had an idea. The second hurdle was buying a cable needle. I didn’t want to spend money on something I wasn’t even sure I could complete. So here is how I made my DIY cable needle from Skewers.

2013-09-06 09.27.14

Materials:

Caron simply soft yarn

Persimmon, Light country Peach, Soft Blue, Blue Mint.

Cable needle

Knitting needle US 8, I used circular needles for this one.

Edging
Edging

Finished Dimensions: 25”X36”

Changes I made to the Patterns:

CO120

4 rows of garter stitch
right side: K6 P2 K6 P2…
Wrong side: P6 K2 P6 K2

Followed by the cable pattern for every alternate K6

2013-09-06 09.28.33

Edging: One round of double crochet in white followed by single crochet.

2013-09-06 09.30.55

I love how these blankets combine crocheting and knitting. I gives it a beautiful look.

This blanket is now available on etsy. Thanks for stopping by.

1 thought on “Fresh Blue Cable Blanket”

Leave a Reply

