related (or unrelated) stories

What you can’t do?

There is really nothing you can’t do unless you decide you can’t. This post seems like something we were taught in high school, when our teachers in value education class told us “As long as you have the determination, there is nothing you can’t do” OR “Where there is a will, there is a way”. It sounded so easy and we totally bought it coz we were so young. What they didn’t talk about was the thousands of things that come in your way!

Here are some of the reasons I found out when I grew up.

1. Time limitations: Our whole adult life we are running behind our dreams, working hard to make them come true. But in the process forget to relax, to enjoy the weather, to try out new cuisines, to read a book you’ve always wanted, to spend time with your hobbies. When we grow old and we are not able to do all of these things, we’ll wish so bad to go back in the past and change it. I already feel like I should have spent more time traveling in college than I did coz now guess what: I don’t have the TIME!!

“I don’t have time” is the most common excuse. Be it for exercise, cooking, or hobbies.

Solution: We NEVER have time. YOU ALWAYS HAVE TO MAKE TIME.

future-self1

2. Social: What will other people say? What does the society think about us? When I first started crafting, I would get a lot of comments that you are only 25, aren’t you a bit young to be knitting/crocheting? At first I thought may be it was something you did once you have babies and knit booties. But who cares what others think. I love doing what I do, have a great time with my friends and it relaxes me. and I can make beautiful stuff for others.

Solution: Who cares what the others think! They are clearly not having as good of a time as you are and they have nothing better to do. at least you are using it constructively.

 

3. Physical: I am so tired after a whole day at work, I cant cook/exercise/craft. I think people who exercise regularly will agree with me here, that you are tired till you reach the gym but are so refreshed when you get back that you could do more activities after then before. You don’t have to be thin or fit to go the gym to workout for 30 mins. Just take a walk around your neighborhood.

I never thought I could run a half-marathon. THE BARRIER IS MORE PSYCHOLOGICAL THAN PHYSICAL. There are people who run marathons at the age of 80. Are you telling my you are too old to walk a mile a day?

Solution: when you decide you want to start something, set time aside for it in your planner – like you would do for a meeting – and just go ahead and do it. It’ll be hard at first but it’ll become a part of you in no time.

Its not that hard as long as you train for it!
Its not that hard as long as you train for it!

 

I think most of the excuses that I could think about could be classified into these three categories. Do you fall in any one of these? Identify the problem and overcome it by finding an appropriate solution. ONLY YOU ARE IN THE WAY OF YOUR PROGRESS. Don’t limit yourself even with work. Grow out to explore new opportunities and find things that make you happy. This makes you happier to work harder in your career and personal life.

 

“Never say that you can’t do something, or that something seems impossible, or that something can’t be done, no matter how discouraging or harrowing it may be; human beings are limited only by what we allow ourselves to be limited by: our own minds. We are each the masters of our own reality; when we become self-aware to this: absolutely anything in the world is possible.

Master yourself, and become king of the world around you. Let no odds, chastisement, exile, doubt, fear, or ANY mental virii prevent you from accomplishing your dreams. Never be a victim of life; be it’s conqueror.”
Mike Norton

Hope you guys are having an awesome week.

6 thoughts on “What you can’t do?”

  1. You are so right, I’m just coming up to exam time again & my A level physicists are very stressed, ( having melt downs because of the exam combinations on certain days) I’ve just decided to loose a revision lesson & teach them to crochet, so they can calm down, do the impossible & switch between languages & physics. Bye the way my physics groups are mainly girls !!

      1. Been speaking to one of the other physics teachers, talking about a lunch time knitting & crochet group along with dropping in with physics problems, creating a calm haven.

Leave a Reply

