related (or unrelated) stories

Chicago marathon 2015

In my other life, I am a runner (2 years ago, I hated running, now it feels like when will this recovery end so I can run again, How times change!) and a biology nerd. Last weekend was the Chicago marathon. This was my second marathon (my first one was also chicago in 2014). If you want to train for your first I would highly recommend a big (world major) marathon. it is usually more expensive than smaller ones but it is worth it. It really helps you run through the pain that is the last 6.2 miles.

Photo Oct 10, 12 31 43 PMMy marathon training:

6 months of training.

I went for long runs ever single saturday morning since April.

I logged about 64000 steps, and 2700 calories on marathon day.

It took me 6 hours to complete. It was perfect weather when we started out but it felt super warm by the time I got to the last 10 miles. My legs were hurting (not cramping just exhausted) I could not wait for this to get done. But then I realized, it is a marathon, it is supposed to hurt. It is not supposed to be easy.

Right after my last marathon, my husband said, “I cant wait to do this again!”. I said “you must be out of your mind!! I am done. This as my once is a lifetime thing!”. This year after this marathon ” I am so not doing a marathon again EVER”. But after 72 hours of recovery I think I want to register for another one.

Photo Oct 12, 8 59 06 AM

If you can run 26.2 miles you can pretty much do anything. You just gotta put your mind to it. Barriers are just mental, you will be surprised what your body can handle.

2 thoughts on “Chicago marathon 2015”

  1. Damn, you go girl. I will be happy to just run a 5K next year. I hated running too! I had nightmares from having to run laps around our middle school block. But since moving south, I get my lazy arse up and out and now I love running, especially since the weight loss. Treat yourself to something hella good.

Leave a Reply

