Sewing ventures

Furnishing fabric for market bags

As I get into sewing some more, I’ve really enjoyed using furnishing fabric as it is super thick for market totes. Here are the ones I’ve been working on this week.

img_1756
Red gingham bag

I learnt sewing the market tote on youtube and made considerable changes to the pattern. At some point, will definitely share the pattern for it as a more detailed blog.

img_1742
Pink stripes bag

But here is what furnishing fabrics look like as bags. I buy these fabrics from IKEA and Lincraft. You can find their collection of fabrics online.

img_1758
Dog print Blue bag

These bags are super sturdy as their handles are sewed in all the way to the base. I think that a contrast of white handles brings out the design of the bag a little more.

The idea is to be able to repurpose unused curtains into bags and use them for groceries. Reduce the use of plastic today. Let’s be more conscious towards the environment together! Please ship me some of your unused furnishing fabric and I can repurpose them into bags for you.

Coming up I have an exciting knitted shawl project to start and my first quilting project underway.

Have a great crafty weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Furnishing fabric for market bags”

Leave a Reply

