Crocheted items

Sunburst Granny Square Blanket

I am back to my crochet mode here. I have been pushing making a granny square blanket as far as possible just because I am scared that the squares will be of different sizes and I wont be able to crochet them together.

However, I found a perfect pattern, that helps me play with the colors and you can Join-as-you-go in one continuous stitch. The sunburst granny pattern has been around for ages. Here is the one I used. And continuous-join-as-you-go instructions from here.

This blanket is for a little baby who is due this summer. I thought it’ll be the perfect baby shower gift to have a blanket in the colorful teals and pinks. I’ve always wanted to use pinks and blues together. this was the perfect opportunity for that, since we are not going to know if it is a boy or a girl. The colors are really bright and make me want spring to come faster.

Photo Mar 09, 11 38 19 AM

Materials:

Caron simply soft yarn in the following colors

pinks: soft pink, watermelon, fushcia.

blues: soft blue, blue mint, country blue.

and white.

Photo Feb 22, 10 45 23 AM

Finished dimensions: 31” X 41”

Photo Feb 26, 8 42 39 AM

Edging: five rounds of granny edging with white, followed by soft pink, white and soft blue. and the last round of edging is from attic 24 granny square edging.

Photo Mar 09, 11 37 25 AM

I love how these colors have turned out together. Happy crocheting!

 

16 thoughts on “Sunburst Granny Square Blanket”

Leave a comment